About Cooper Park Community Garden

About Cooper Park Community Garden

How we started

Cooper Park Community Garden (CPCG) began in 2017 when a group of local would-be gardeners worked together with Woollahra Council to build a garden in a sunny corner of Cooper Park based on sustainable, organic principles in harmony with the nature of the local area.

Our community garden thanks:

The founding members: Torsten Blackwood, Michelle Falstein, Virginia Savage, Debbie Kertesz and the late Ruth Osen for their vision and work in establishing the garden.

Bunnings Rose Bay (and member Geoff Whytcross) for donating garden tools and supplies. We value your support as we grow.

Woollahra Council for ongoing encouragement and support in maintaining and upgrading the garden facilities to provide access to water, lighting and toilet facilities.

The garden committee

The Cooper Park Community Garden Organising Committee manages the garden’s maintenance, communications and activities.

Committee Members for 2023:

Torsten Blackwood – President
Virginia Pearce – Vice President
Helen Connell – Treasurer
Jeni Black – Secretary
Susie Muller – Committee Member
Bruce Nockles – Committee Member
Daniel Bloom – Committee Member
Meagan McDonald- Committee Member
Philip Redelman – Committee Member
Esther Bruhl – Committee Member

Contact the Committee by email to cpcgoc@gmail.com

Our philosophy

Use only natural materials, fertilisers and pest control methods

Share our gardening knowledge and experience

Learn about sustainable practices including composting and bee keeping

Share our surplus produce with others to eliminate waste